Norway, Ireland, and Spain to formally recognize Palestine as a state

The governments of Norway, Ireland, and Spain announced on Wednesday their intentions to recognize Palestine as an independent state. The three countries said the formal declaration would resolve the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

Ireland Prime Minister Simon Harris called implementing and formally recognizing the two-state solution a “historic and important day for Ireland and for Palestine,” the Associated Press reported.

Harris stated that he hoped the official recognition of a Palestinian state would provide “hope and encouragement to the people of Palestine at one of their darkest hours.”

Norway was the first country to announce the decision, with Ireland and Spain following the Scandinavian country’s lead. 

“The Norwegian Government has decided that Norway will recognize Palestine as a state,” Norwegian Prime Minister Jonas Gahr Støre said in a statement. “In the midst of a war, with tens of
Read more…

Please follow and like us: