How Iowa caucus winners have fared in the rest of the primaries

The Iowa caucuses are the first on the presidential Republican primary calendar, but the winner of this race does not always end up faring well in nominating contests in subsequent states.

Donald Trump has a large polling lead over fellow GOP candidates Nikki Haley and Gov. Ron DeSantis (R-FL) going into Monday’s caucuses, but history indicates that may not be a good omen for the former president. Here is a look at how winners of the Iowa Republican presidential caucuses have fared in the rest of the primaries.

2016: Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX)

Cruz defeated a crowded Republican primary field to win the Iowa caucuses in 2016, with longtime polling front-runner Trump finishing second behind the Texas senator. Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL) had a surprising third-place finish in the race, coming close behind Trump and Cruz.

The upset of Trump
Read more…

Please follow and like us: